The S.T.U.C.K. Method

Five Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being

STUCK on You Ain’t Gotta Heart!

1 Comment

I love nature.

Who doesn’t?

And when I woke up this morning witnessing two birds building a nest outside my kitchen window, I got excited.

To be able to watch nature take its course.

And show my children.

And simply be in awe of God’s daily miracles.

My first thought was that I should document this nest building process.

Knowing that I’d be home most of the day and knowing that building a nest takes time, I figured I’d check in every 1/2 hour or so and video just a few seconds.

Check out my first 20 second clip, which shows one bird bringing a branch to the second bird who was watching over the branches that had been already collected:

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvQJfnhylpA&feature=youtu.be

birdNow, tell me that isn’t cool!

My 3 year old thought so, too.

In fact, when he made it to his school this morning, it was the first thing he told his teacher.

And she responded, “Well, you know what? We’re going on a walk this morning.  How about we take a walk to your house and you can show all the kids?”

And, that’s just what they did.

They quietly entered the house and as they entered the kitchen, I picked each child up, one by one, so that they could watch the birds in progress.

And, as they left I thought to myself, “Nature as your classroom – Awesome educational opportunity, if you ask me.”

So, as you can imagine, I was excited for this day to unfold.

Until I heard a noise in the kitchen.

And, asked my husband what it was.

Who responded, “I just got rid of a nest that birds were starting to build outside our window.”

YOU WHAT?!?!?!?!?!? (I yelled in my mind.)

“YOU WHAT!?!?!?!?!?!?” (I yelled out loud for all the neighbors to hear.)

“This is the nature at its best!!!!!!!!!!”

“This is an educational tool for us and our kids!!!!!!!!!”

“How could you destroy someone’s habitat???????”

“Our child’s school was JUST here, minutes before you walked in, and they all got a peek of what was going on.  They wanted to be a part of this process, too!!!!!!!!”

“Tell me, have you got no heart at all????????????”

And, he responded defensively:

“What, you want a nest outside our window?”

“What about all the diseases birds carry?”

“You want that coming into our house?”

“And, what are you so excited about anyway?”

“There are a zillion trees in the area.  Why can’t they just build a nest in the tree next to our house?”

I stopped.

Because I saw it.

I was stuck.

On something relatively quite non-gargantuan in size.

Yes, I was frustrated that he didn’t consult with me before he made that decision.

But, the truth is, he didn’t even consider it a decision which required consulting.

And, what was underneath it all was probably the oppressive heat and a poor night’s sleep I had the night before.

And that I didn’t meditate this morning.

I knew I was already starting my day off on the wrong foot.

So, I changed perspectives quite quickly, accepted that he didn’t do anything intentional to hurt or spite me, recognized the irony that my husband has got one of the biggest hearts I know, and ultimately apologized.

Within seconds.

Which is wonderful.

Because as much as I wanted to protect that little nest, I also want to protect the nest I already have and worked quite hard to build.

Author: Shira Taylor Gura

Well-Being Coach, Podcast Host, Author of the award winning book, Getting unSTUCK: 5 Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being.

One thought on “STUCK on You Ain’t Gotta Heart!

  1. Great story! Great last line! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

