The S.T.U.C.K. Method

Five Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being

NOT STUCK on 1 STUDENT

1 Comment

Friday is errand day in Israel.

Preparing for Shabbat.

Cleaning the house.

Cooking.

So, when I moved my weekly yoga class on Hannaton from Tuesday nights to Friday mornings, I had to take into consideration that the class size may ebb and flow each week.

And, this week I had a strong inkling that no one was going to show up.

IMG_20140523_092529So at 8:15 (the time of the class), when no one showed up, I picked up the phone.

Not to vent.

Or cry.

But, to call my husband.

Who tends to work on Fridays, but sometimes has the flexibility to walk away from his work when called upon.

So, I called him to see if he wanted to take a private yoga class.

And within 3 minutes, he showed up.

IMG_20140523_092612He chose an angel card from the sachet bag which would set the intention of the class.

POWER.

“Power?” he asked me.

“What does that mean?”

“Let’s explore it in the class,” I answered.

And, we did.

We explored the power that is within each of us to watch the busyness of our minds and to continuously redirect our attention back to something real and tangible, like the breath or a IMG_20140523_092635sensation in the body.

No matter what pose my husband was in, I reminded him of that intention.

To return to his breath.

To let go of intrusive thoughts.

To just be.

This class, which settled his mind immensely, ended in a 25 minute relaxation (which typically only lasts for 10 minutes).

After which we both sat for a moment in gratitude for the day.

And I sat in gratitude for the opportunity of teaching one student.

Author: Shira Taylor Gura

Well-Being Coach, Podcast Host, Author of the award winning book, Getting unSTUCK: 5 Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being.

One thought on “NOT STUCK on 1 STUDENT

  1. Sweet. Sorry I missed class but looking forward to next week. (The photo cracked me up.)

Leave a Reply

