The S.T.U.C.K. Method

Five Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being

STUCK on SUGAR!

7 Comments

I’m stuck on sugar.

Agh.

I hate when this happens.

Which is usually in the winter.

When I find myself, seeking out sugar.  

sugar

And while I may not seek out sugary “junk”, I am seeking cakes and cookies.  

Or even chocolate, even though I’m not such a big fan of it.

*******

Now, while this blog is for the purpose of processing emotional attachments (and being addicted to sugar can be argued a biological addiction), I decided nevertheless to treat being “stuck on sugar” like any other emotional attachment and see where it would take me.

Because, in a way, I guess I felt like I needed to “feed” my body on sugar because it was making me feel good, just like the way I (and all of us) feel like we need to “feed” ourselves on emotional attachments (stuck on “x”) because in each particular situation, we feel like they make us feel good or right.

*******

S.T.U.C.K.

2 weeks ago tomorrow, I….

“S” – STOPPED and PAUSED before doing anything else.  

And “T” – Told myself how I was feeling.

Lethargic.

Bloated.

Carrying too many extra pounds around the waistline.

Irritable.

Not happy with my figure.

Then, I looked to see what may be “U” – underneath it all.  In other words, how is it that I got myself into this place?

The cold weather?

Work instability?

Not getting out of the house enough?

Mothering?

4 children?

That have lots and lots of energy?

And make lots of lots of noise?

Alllllllllllllll the time?

And, perhaps I comforted myself from the stresses of life with sugar??

Could be.

Who knows.

Then I got to “C” – to consider another perspective, to choose another reality, to consciously behave differently,

and realized that I don’t have to be addicted to sugar.

I could choose to eat foods that don’t contain sugar.

Just like when I’m stuck on anything else and I choose to behave differently.

And, I certainly can eat in a more mindful manner, for sure.

So, what did I do?

Went on a cleanse.

To detoxify my body of sugar.

(Which I believe, consider me a freak or an extremist, is a poison to our bodies in any event.)

************

I started by eliminating all sugars (including all fruit temporarily) from my diet.

And simultaneously, I eliminated anything made with wheat: bread, pasta, crackers, pretzels, cereals, etc. (because not only do they also contain sugar, I felt addicted to those, too… probably because, in the end, all of these foods turn to sugar in our bodies anyway).

*(By the way, most people who think I’m crazy when I tell them I’m doing a cleanse ask, “Then what DO you eat?”… Which seems funny to me… I just respond, “My usual diet, minus the sugar and wheat: salads, all other grains besides wheat (oats, rice, barley, spelt, rye), eggs, cheese, quinoa, all kinds of nuts, all kinds of seeds, and beans.  That’s PLENTY to eat off of and be satisfied from!”)

After the first day, I already felt effects.

More energy.

Less bloated.

Slimming down in the belly area.

Patient.

More “regular” bowel movements.

Happier with my figure.

****

Almost two weeks later, I am witnessing that I’m no longer stuck on sugar.

Not only do I not need it, I’m not even seeking it out.

(Not that this detox is the final step, because it’s certainly not.)

The purpose of the cleanse was to have a jump start to get back to mindful eating: the practice of raising awareness while eating, listening to the body, and responding to its signals.

And, when I get to “K”, I remind myself that despite the fact that I fell off the path of mindful eating (again), it’s o”K” that I got stuck in the first place.

It’s just a part of living.

And learning.

And living again.

Author: Shira Taylor Gura

Well-Being Coach, Podcast Host, Author of the award winning book, Getting unSTUCK: 5 Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being.

7 thoughts on “STUCK on SUGAR!

  1. good for you. it usually takes me 3 weeks to get “unstuck.” I am definitely going through a stuck on sugar phase, though I am pretty sure my issue is more chemical (and related to candida overgrowth) than emotional, but the chemical of course connects quickly to the emotional. But knowing it — and recognizing it –and knowing I get to choose when to get unstuck is empowering in and of itself!

  2. Yes, feeling empowered is a great way to describe how I’m feeling these days. Thanks for your reply, Jen!

  3. Shira,
    Thank you. I needed to read today’s “STUCK”. I, too, have been stuck on sugars (especially chocolates) for far too long and am repeatedly beating myself up for it. I realize that it’s primarily emotional eating, which just exasperates the problem.

    I am going to try your cleanse idea along with consciously remembering to focus on why I’m stuck to see if that will help me get un-stuck.

    Thank you for the great advice. I love reading all your blogs.

  4. Thank YOU for responding and letting me know that you enjoy reading my blogs. Good luck with your cleanse and with your path on becoming more aware of when you get stuck. It’s so nice to be a part of a community that can be honest with such difficult life experiences.

  5. Thanks for sharing, Shira – and for inspiring me to join you on a cleanse. I have been wheat and sugar free for 8 days now (the only exceptions being a piece of fruit a couple of times this past week, and an accident tablespoon of sugar in a loaf of spent challah that we used at our Shabbat table yesterday). The first several days were hard. I definitely had cravings for these comfort foods/ingredients. But I can now report that having gotten over the initial withdrawal, I have a level of energy that I have not had before. And no sugar crashes…I’ll keep you posted, and thanks again for inspiring me to be mindful of the foods I eat!

  6. Ian, thank you for sharing! It’s so interesting to hear the journey your are on and I’m glad I could be of inspiration (though, that’s not my purpose in life!)

  7. Pingback: STUCK on REJECTION | S.T.U.C.K. in the MUCK

Leave a Reply

