The S.T.U.C.K. Method

Five Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being

STUCK on NOT ENOUGH!

2 Comments

If you don’t already know, I’m a fan of yoga.

A big fan.

Not only have I and continue to teach yoga to adults, children, pregnant women, business people, travelers (and more), I practice (or at least aim to) yoga each morning.

You see, for me as a mother of 4, I find that the morning is the sweetest and most precious time of the day.

There really isn’t any other time of the day like the morning is for me.

Especially at 5:30.

When it’s quiet.

And peaceful.

And there’s no one around to bother me because everyone is sleeping (typically until 7:00 am).

So, this is when I practice.

Because it’s practically a guarantee win situation for me.

Some days I just roll out my mat and do my own thing.

On other days, I take a pre-recorded class (as a subscriber to www.yogaglo.com).

Today I decided to take a class.

60 minutes of yoga all to myself.

AHHHHHHHHHHHH…..

And, it started out wonderfully.

The scene looked like this.

IMG_20140101_082720

I did some gentle stretches and breathing exercises and really tuned into how my body was feeling this morning.

Until 5:45 am when my 3rd child got out of bed saying he wanted to throw up.

Agh.

OK.

Pause the video.

And, after that lovely 5 minute episode in the bathroom, that child chose to lay on the couch and watch me continue with my class.

IMG_20140101_064633

Fine.

No big deal.

Not such a distraction.

I can continue.

And, I did.

Until 15 minutes later, when child #4 got out of bed and rolled out a yoga mat right next to me.

“Ema (mom), what is he doing?  Do it this way!  What is that guy saying??”

IMG_20140101_063615

Agh.

OK.

Fine.

No big deal.

I can continue with one sick child on one side of me and another child talking incessantly into the laptop.

I reminded myself of where I was.

Peace.

Tranquility.

Must continue.

Until 15 minutes after that, child #2 gets out of bed and wants to meditate.

He took my mat.

IMG_20140101_064324

I’m now completely outnumbered and matless.

Agh.

Then, I really started at it (to myself)…

“Can I not even enjoy the early times of the day to myself when you’re not even supposed to be awake?”

“Can I not just do a freakin’ yoga class by myself without being interrupted by little people?”

“Have you no respect at all for your elders?”

But, I caught myself.

I didn’t allow myself to get stuck on “not enough” for too long.

Especially when my eldest child got up on her own (who otherwise ALWAYS needs to be woken by someone), ten minutes before 7:00 am.

Ten minutes before 7:00 am.

Isn’t something happening this morning at 7:00?

What was it?

What was it?

Oh, the ball drop, of course!

And, the laptop is already on!

And, as we raced to find a live stream video of the event, everyone (including my husband) got close together to watch the excitement happening in NYC and around the world.

IMG_20140101_070031

And, as I stood back and looked at this scene, I was reminded of how lucky I am.

For my family.

For my children.

For my husband.

And, for the yoga that I did do this morning, however long it was.

So, as we welcome in 2014, may we all be blessed to acknowledge the blessings that we receive moment by moment and realize that what we have right now is probably plenty enough.

Author: Shira Taylor Gura

Well-Being Coach, Podcast Host, Author of the award winning book, Getting unSTUCK: 5 Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being.

2 thoughts on “STUCK on NOT ENOUGH!

  1. Yay! in the “everything apparently DOES happen for a reason” category.

    BOO! In the “clearly something is going around the Gan” category because my third is home sick with fever and sore throat today too.

    Happy new year!

  2. KEEP ENJOYING THE CHILDREN AND YOGA AND OF COURSE, BOAZ!! A VERY HAPPY AND HEALTHY NEW YEAR!!!

Leave a Reply

