The S.T.U.C.K. Method

Five Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being

S.T.U.C.K. on DISBELIEF

4 Comments

This past Friday  morning, I drove to Nazareth (the closest/largest city to  Hannaton, where many of my family’s doctors’ offices are situated) despite the inclement weather (forecast of more blessed rain).

And, as much as I really loathe driving in the rain, I drove anyway.

And, despite the fact that it snowed last week in Jerusalem and the tops of Mount Hermon, it hasn’t snowed (much to the dismay of my children) in the Jezreel Valley where my family and I live.  And as far I understand it, it probably never will snow in the Jezreel Valley because it just doesn’t get cold enough (Thank G-d!!!)

So, when I drove to Nazareth on Friday and it was raining when I left my house, you can imagine my state of disbelief when it started snowing.

SNOWING!!!!!

I couldn’t believe it.

I didn’t believe it.

SNOW?

“SNOW?” I questioned out loud.

“Can’t be.”

“It must be hail.”

“No, I actually think it’s really snow,” I unsuccessfully tried to convince myself.

“No, it can’t be.  Not here.  Not 15 minutes from Hannaton.”

“Then, what’s that white stuff falling from the sky?”

“It’s got to be hail.”

“Nope it’s snow.”

And this conversation went on in my mind for about 10 minutes while I continued ascending the hills of Nazareth.

Until I passed by a parked car that was slightly covered with snow.

And, I finally believed.

snow

But, to think it took me that long to believe something that was literally in front of my eyes.

I was too stuck on disbelief to believe anything!

The only thing I could “see” was no.

***************************

And, ironically, this stuck on disbelief happened again 5 minutes later.

When I walked into my first ever acupuncture appointment.

As much as I am deeply involved and appreciate and value the world of Eastern traditions and therapies (including Yoga), I have to admit that not only have I never tried acupuncture, but I’ve been always been a little skeptical about it.

How could sticking needles in random parts of your body be healing?

But, a friend of mine suggested it (for my perpetually clogged nose) and since nothing else has really worked, I decided to go for it.

But, going in with being stuck on skepticism and disbelief.

So, after the therapist put some needles in my body (and on my face!) and she left the room for me to rest for 20 minutes, I heard similar conversations of disbelief going on in my head.

But, I caught myself.

And, even though I couldn’t see the proof, as I did with the snow, I recognized the Choice:

Of either laying there with complete disbelief, which would probably lead to nowhere, or

Lay there with belief or even faith that perhaps yes, this modality may actually heal me.

So, I chose the latter.

And, chose to just lay there believing.

And, you know what?

The rest of the day…. my nose was completely open!

I was breathing!

Out of both nostrils!

It was the most amazing and relieving feeling I’ve experienced in weeks!!!

*********************

So, now my question to you:

Do you believe me?

Or, are you stuck on disbelief?

Author: Shira Taylor Gura

Well-Being Coach, Podcast Host, Author of the award winning book, Getting unSTUCK: 5 Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being.

4 thoughts on “S.T.U.C.K. on DISBELIEF

  1. Yes, I believe you and am happy that you found a way to unblock your nostrils. Hope it lasts. My love

  2. Yes, I also believe you. I actually posted an article that can help us learn to deal with these judgemental type thoughts whether they’re about people or things or events, they all come from the same place. http://www.breslev.co.il/articles/spirituality_and_faith/kabbalah_and_mysticism/try_not_to_judge.aspx?id=22321&language=english

  3. thank you, Gavriel. I will read your post!

  4. Pingback: STUCK on a Beggar | S.T.U.C.K. in the MUCK

Leave a Reply

