The S.T.U.C.K. Method

Five Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being

STUCK on a METAPHOR

4 Comments

I’m stuck on a find the best metaphor for this blog.

Why?

1) It’s meant to put an abstract concept into concrete terms.

2) It’s meant to create familiarity.

3) It’s meant to trigger an emotion.

4) It’s meant to draw your attention.  (And, perhaps persuade you to start using it in your own life).

*****

Until today, I’ve used the word “stuck” (on a branch) to describe situations when I’ve been not mindful.

I’m curious, does “stuck” (on a branch) do it for you?

I’m specifically talking about the word “stuck”.

Can you relate to it?

Does it describe the situations that you get into when you are not mindful?

Take a look at this picture:

billboard-stuck_1116867i

When you are:

angry or

disappointed or

frustrated or

even any positive emotion like

excited or

proud.

Do you feel stuck?

To me, and my 15-minute-blogging-Friday-friend, “stuck” isn’t the best metaphor for the image I’m trying to convey.

And, certainly in my children’s book (which I’ve returned to, to give it another go), “stuck” just doesn’t do it.

Why?

Well, when I look at the “stuck” picture above, it makes me feel like that person has no options,

no way of getting unstuck,

and certainly no choice about it.

And, that’s certainly not what I’m attempting to convey in my posts (and in my book).

Instead, “hanging onto” seems more appropriate.

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Look at this guy (above).

He’s hanging onto (something).

He’s certainly not stuck.

He has a choice.

To let go.

To keep hanging.

To hang in a different way.

To climb the branch and get a different perspective of things.

To change hands and notice the effects of what hanging had on his hand.

Lots of options.

Complete freedom (if he’s aware of it).

And so, I’ve decided to change the name of my blog from:

“Stuck on a Branch” to

“Hanging Onto a Branch”.

It works much better for me,

and, I hope it may be more useful for you, too.

Author: Shira Taylor Gura

Well-Being Coach, Podcast Host, Author of the award winning book, Getting unSTUCK: 5 Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being.

4 thoughts on “STUCK on a METAPHOR

  1. Hanging onto are definitely good word choices 🙂 me

    >

    • Now, I’m thinking twice. Boaz made a comment to me. See my response below to Laurie. If you have ideas, let me know.

  2. Interesting. When we talk about autistic kids we use the term perseverate a lot. To explain it to parents, we say that the kids are stuck on certain behaviors. It definitely has a negative connotation. Maybe we should find another word to use! That being said, I don’t think “stuck” implies hopelessness of becoming unstuck. However I do think of someone needing someone else’s help to get unstuck, which is not the image you’re trying to convey.

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Hi Laurie. Thanks for responding! Before I saw your response, Boaz read my post and he commented that he didn’t like the metaphor of hanging onto a branch for at least two reasons:
    1) He said the monkey doesn’t really have much choice. The image is almost like hanging to “dear life”. If he doesn’t hang on, he falls.
    2) What I am trying to get across to people is that we all “choose” to hang on (even if we’re not aware of it), and we CAN hang on “for life!” if we want (and some people do!).
    3) The image I’m trying to get across is that we all “Get” something out of hanging onto something (otherwise, we wouldn’t hang on). He said, in this image, he doesn’t see what we are “receiving” by hanging on.

    I totally heard his comments and I think he’s right. So, I’m back to thinking of a better metaphor.

    And, I do that “stuck” is kind of negative.

    I wonder if:
    grasp or hold onto, would be better words.

    By the way, I do think that sometimes we need others to help us get “unstuck”, so I’d like to have that in my image, too.

    I started to google images, but am at a loss.

    Have any brilliant ideas?

    Grasping onto ….

    Holding onto….

    Anything. Any ideas?

    Holding onto a dream? (Would that be a good image)?
    Holding onto yesterday?
    Holding onto forever?
    Holding onto nothing?

    Or, make up a new image… holding onto….

    I’m STUCK!

Leave a Reply

