The S.T.U.C.K. Method

Five Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being

STUCK on RUSHING

8 Comments

As I continue to practice taking time each day to just sit, I am more and more aware of how much rushing I do.

Rushing to wake up early enough so that I can get some daily exercise in before the kids wake up.

Rushing to make breakfast (and pack lunches at the same time).

Rush to get the kids off to school (and clean up the dishes at the same time).

Rushing at the supermarket.

Rushing while driving.

Rushing with my conversations.

Rushing while eating.

Rushing even to just meditate.

Why?

What is the root of rushing and why do I (we?) do it?

Desire.

And, while I accept that yes, there are things we need to do at certain moments of the day, I’m not convinced that all the rushing I do is required to get through the day.

In fact, quite the opposite, I’m convinced that slowing down would be a much healthier and productive way of living.

*******************

I believe in God.

I believe that the Creator’s energy is eternal.

I also believe that that energy provides us with whatever we need in each given moment, whether it is: strength, or peace, or calm, humility, gratitude, or love.

The problem is, I am rushing too often to ever notice it.

*******************
In this week’s Torah portion, Jacob dreams of a ladder and angels going up and down it.  When he woke up, he said, “Surely God was here in this place, but I did not know it.” (Genesis: 28:16).

God was there.  But, Jacob missed it.

Perhaps (in his sleep), he was also rushing.

Or, desiring something that prevented him from receiving God’s presence in that moment.

******************

Thanks for my daily practice of just sitting (and therefore, slowing down), I catch myself from falling into the pit of desire to rush.

Like this morning, when I was taking one of my children to kindergarten.

And, he decided to stop and explore ants on the ground.

IMG_20131106_073403IMG_20131106_073605IMG_20131106_073506

“Are you kidding me?”, I thought to myself.  “We have to stop and look at ants at 7:30 AM?”

“Look, Ema. Here’s the big ants that carry things on their backs.  These little ones are too weak to carry anything.  They are just following.”

He was so intrigued.

So excited.

So present.

And, I was grateful that I knew to stop.

And be calm.

And patient.

And be there with him.

And feel God’s presence.

Author: Shira Taylor Gura

Well-Being Coach, Podcast Host, Author of the award winning book, Getting unSTUCK: 5 Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being.

8 thoughts on “STUCK on RUSHING

  1. I really love this piece and the pictures too!! Of course this applies to so many people and is so important to practice too. I love it shir and thank you for keeping us all in the moment :)) Me

    >

  2. Thank you, Aim, for continuing to read my posts! You inspire me to keep writing!

  3. This was so beautiful-how interesting his observations about the ants! You are right about rushing-I remember when my 3 were small and I was rushing them all around-getting here adn ther eon a schedule, i used to feel so exhausted from RUSHING! I felt as though I was one of the Flinstones-using my feet to make the car go! Because my mind never stopped-I was actually missing so much.
    This Parsha is my favorite(my one son is Y’srael) and teh mindfulness is the outstanding lesson.

  4. Shira,
    Beautiful piece. I was just thinking about this idea today on one of my to or from gan trips. thanks for writing!

  5. I love hearing from you and listening to your thoughts. My love

Leave a Reply

