The S.T.U.C.K. Method

Five Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being

STUCK on BEING INSULTED

3 Comments

IMG_20130816_130232I love to crochet.

It’s my most favorite hobby.

I think what I like most about it, besides the calming nature of the activity, is that it brings out the creative side in me.

I haven’t yet succeeded in reading crocheting patterns.

Instead, I just “feel” the material and make up things as I go along.

Including hot plates (see practical wall on left),

bags,

5258_10151350677967471_1215446302_n

pencil holders,

0_0 (53)

vases,

IMG_20130915_091656

rugs (not sure why I can’t turn this photo, but I won’t get stuck on it) 🙂

telem bedroom

half rugs,IMG_20131007_231517

and many more.

So, what happened?

The other day, a friend of mine came to our new house and suggested something we should add to it.

Unfortunately, I can’t recall what it was.

But, what I do recall is saying, “Oh! I can crochet that!!!”

And, his response?

“I think one or two colorful/crocheted things in a contemporary space is nice… it warms up the space and can make things pop, etc…, but too much can be a bit too cutesy/grandma-like/frilly, and begin to define the space more than off-set or warm up the space.”

So, there!

Hey.

Wait a minute.

Did he really say that?

How dare he say that about my crocheting!

Didn’t he realize how that affected my crocheting ego?

Does he know what I can say about his house?

But, as I mentioned in my last post, I didn’t stay stuck for long.

I saw how I was judging him.

And, I realized, quite quickly, that he had no bad intentions.

He was just offering his opinion.

And, how silly for me to be insulted by it.

I could take his words or leave them.

But, certainly not stay insulted!

That won’t get me anywhere!

So, I laughed.

Because I found it humorous that something so little could have set me off.

And, humorous that I couldn’t even hear the rest of his words:

“Of course – this is just a question of taste – which is obviously in the eye of the beholder – and you should do what you like and makes you happy!”

I’m feeling very blessed today, for many reasons, one of which is for this practice.

Author: Shira Taylor Gura

Well-Being Coach, Podcast Host, Author of the award winning book, Getting unSTUCK: 5 Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being.

3 thoughts on “STUCK on BEING INSULTED

  1. Great blog and your chrochet is beautiful! You are very talented and creative 😉

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Your crocheting is something to be admired! I have a feeling that guy was jealous! People make comments to me all the time about all the pictures all over the house saying it looks like a photography studio. Insulted, no! Proud, yes! Same for my knitting and needlepointing over the years.

    keep up the great work!

    love,

    mom

  3. Thanks for your response, mom! I don’t think he was jealous at all. I think he was just stating his opinion, and it was up to me to either listen to it or not. Anyway, thanks for sharing about the pictures in your house and your knitting/needlepointing. I didn’t know you received such comments ever!

Leave a Reply

