The S.T.U.C.K. Method

Five Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being

STUCK on a SERMON

1 Comment

sermon My first boyfriend from high school (who ended up becoming a rabbi), and I are still in touch.

One of his most recent posts requested feedback to a question: “With the holidays around the corner, what is keeping you up at night and what is giving you hope?”

Now, how timely for me, eh?

Honestly, if I were not completely in awe of this “getting stuck on a branch” philosophy and practice, I probably wouldn’t have much to write to him.  Nothing really keeps me up at night to be honest.  And, I’m not too sure about hope.

But, now?  I’m overwhelmed.  Totally, utterly, and completely by how powerful this practice is and how much it has influenced me in the short time that I’ve begun writing this blog.

So, what is keeping me up at night?  To be more accurate, what is keeping me up during the day?

How is it, that I’m nearly turning 40, and I’ve yet to figure out how I went through what is considered a great public school education, a religious school education, college, graduate school, and other certifications here and there, and yet I’ve never learned about anything remotely touching on this concept (getting stuck) that is totally changing me for the positive.

For the sake of my children.

For the sake of my husband.

For the sake of my parents.

For the sake of my community.

For the sake of my world.

For the sake of me.

How in the world did I never learn this?

How in the world were so many other things emphasized to me as soooo important, yet I never learned this basic, basic life tool.

And, if I never learned it (and I consider myself a good student, not even mentioning that I have one foot in the Eastern world as a yoga teacher), than it must be that most of the world has not learned this.

IS not learning this.

That keeps me up during the day.

But, I have hope.

So much hope.

Too much hope.

This practice is simple (though, perhaps not always easy), but simple enough to share it with the world.

The world can learn this.

The world will learn this.

Some of the world already is learning this.

And, quite frankly, I’d love to be a part of that revolution.  I just have to figure out how.

And, keep practicing before I get stuck again.

Author: Shira Taylor Gura

Well-Being Coach, Podcast Host, Author of the award winning book, Getting unSTUCK: 5 Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being.

One thought on “STUCK on a SERMON

  1. Great write up!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

