The S.T.U.C.K. Method

Five Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being

STUCK on ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Leave a comment

Being in a relationship takes work.

Ask any couple who is willing to be honest.

Being in a relationship requires active listening, compromising, and plain old effort.

For me, it takes getting my ego off that branch, almost every day.

Because it creates negative chemistry between my husband and me.

So, I need to practice.

And, I do.

And, when I make progress, like the other night, I want my husband to acknowledge me.

thank you

For practicing.

For making an effort.

For working towards a better relationship.

But, he doesn’t acknowledge me.

Because he doesn’t know the efforts I make.

They are silent.

Only I know them.

And, as often as I get stuck on wanting (desire) him to know, I try to practice just noticing that desire.

And notice where I feel it in my body.

And, notice how getting stuck is actually blinding me from reality…

That in that moment, we are happy, and he doesn’t necessarily need to know anything more than that.

Author: Shira Taylor Gura

Well-Being Coach, Podcast Host, Author of the award winning book, Getting unSTUCK: 5 Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being.

Leave a Reply

