The S.T.U.C.K. Method

Five Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being

STUCK on FACEBOOK! (And you??)

Leave a comment

Like_1I’ll admit it.  I’m stuck on Facebook.  And you?

I don’t mean that I am necessarily addicted to it (which I probably am, but don’t necessarily see that is a “bad” thing).  For me, Facebook is a way that I can stay connected to my friends and family back in the States, and I am grateful for that.

But, I’m stuck on thinking about my future posts.

Not always.

But sometimes.

Like yesterday.

When I took my older boys on a day trip to Jerusalem.

I drove us to the Haifa bus station, we took an inter-city bus to the central bus station in Jerusalem, a taxi to an extraordinary temporary train exhibit, an intra-city bus to Ben Yehuda street, the light rail back to the central bus station, a return bus back to Haifa, and then drove back home.

Whew.

What a fun filled “transportation” day.

The kids had more fun on the various modes of transportation they took than visiting the capital of Israel itself!

And, while riding on the light rail down Yaffa road (my first time since it was built), I had a thought:  This would be a great post for Facebook!  So many people will “like” this. And, I thought about how to write it…. how to make it sound interesting, fun, “likable”.  I couldn’t get it out of my head.  (Again, I was stuck on desire.)

And, before I knew it, I heard on the “loudspeaker”…

תחנת הבאה: תחנת המרכזית

(Next stop, Central Bus Station).

And, I missed it.

Not, the stop.

But, the experience of being on the light rail.

I missed watching my kids with their eyes wide open experiencing this for the first time.

I missed looking at the regulars, the tourists.

I missed hearing the sounds, the different languages.

I think I missed everything.

Because I was stuck.

On Facebook.

And you?

Author: Shira Taylor Gura

Well-Being Coach, Podcast Host, Author of the award winning book, Getting unSTUCK: 5 Simple Steps to Emotional Well-Being.

Leave a Reply

